Three DWU football members selected to 2019 NFF Hampshire Honor Society

Three DWU football members selected to 2019 NFF Hampshire Honor Society

MITCHELL, S.D. – The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) announced the 2019 NFF Hampshire Honor Society members. The three Dakota Wesleyan University football players who received the prestigious award include Sam Naasz (Winner, S.D.), Jace Pulse (Kimball, S.D.) and Bailey Schriever (Harrisburg, S.D.).

 The NFF selects college football players from all divisions who maintained a cumulative GPA of 3.2 or better during their collegiate career. This year marks the 13th time these honors have been handed out with an all-time high of 1,678 players from 430 schools. This mark surpasses the 1,274 honorees from 308 schools a year ago.

 The requirements needed to be met along with a cumulative 3.2 GPA include completing their playing eligibility in 2018, meet all NAIA-mandated progress towards degree requirements and been a starter or saw significant playing time throughout the 2018 season.

 Naasz was a key contributor on the defense as he finished with 33 tackles, two tackles for loss and a sack. He also was the starting punter who averaged 38.5 yards per punt and was named to the All-GPAC Honorable Mention Team.

 Pulse saw playing time on offense at the wide receiver position. He completed his senior season with 200 yards receiving on 17 catches. Schriever added depth at cornerback as he finished with 17 total tackles, including a tackle for loss.

 In the classroom, Naasz will complete his degree with an athletic training major. Pulse will receive his degree in accounting, while Schriever will receive his degree in business management.

Doane football stifles DWU
November 3, 2018 Doane football stifles DWU
DWU secures road victory
October 27, 2018 DWU secures road victory
Tigers drop road contest
October 20, 2018 Tigers drop road contest